POTTERMANIA

Did you know that grief counsellors are standing by in London in case Harry Potter is “offed” in his seventh and last book?  Last night a thousand people (including many adults) stood in line at Chapters’ Ste-Catherine street store to obtain Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

      Am I the only person in Canada who has not read a sentence of the Potter series? My wife is a big fan.  I enjoyed C.S. Lewis’ Narnia books and to a lesser extent Tolkien’s Ring books.  But not a line of Potter.

       I an not hostile to Potter. But there are those who are.  J.K. Rowling’sbooks have endured the wrath of religious conservatives the world over.  There have been book burnings, book bans and even a declaration by one high prelate in the Vatican that Harry Potter is “the devil”.  One American literary critic, decrying the large number of adults who avidly read the Potter books, suggests that this “looks like a bad case of cultural infantilism”.

       Have you read all, any, or none of the Potter books?  Would you recommend them to a child, to an adult?  What do you think has provoked this mass hysteria with 123 million books sold? 

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Cate McB Says:

    Yes, I’ve read some of the books and I’ve gone to two Potter movies. Yes, I would recommend them to both children and adults. Why? Because they are iconic — not unlike most other classics of literature, they unlock the human power of the imagination in new & exciting ways that start with the words on the page but take people beyond them. Why this “mass hysteria”? Perhaps because although many of us are unconscious in our daily lives in the way that John Ralston Saul understands “The Unconscious Civilization,” the Potter series facilitates waking moments and a little excitement as well. Although I couldn’t stay up ’til midnight last night to get my copy of the last book (at least for now), I intend to get it soon — perhaps even today. Cate McB

  2. 2

    Thanks for the insights into Harry, Kate. Now I think I might dip into the series. Catharine and I are off to Mainefor a week with the Hallwards.

  3. 3

    Sorry. Change Kate to Cate Neil

  4. 4
    Barbara Says:

    No problem with Harry, but he does not bewitch me. Have a great week in Maine, you two!

  5. 5
    Joanne Nicholls Says:

    I have just started the 5th book (I think it’s the 5th one!). I love them. For me they are very visual and I can imagine the settings and the characters completely. It is a story of the struggle of good and evil with the impossible now possible because of the magic involved. I can get completely lost in the stories and the characters. I have seen at least one of the movies, maybe two but I definitely prefer the books because I can “view” them in my own way rather than through the interpretation of the director. Try one. You may just get lost in it! It’ll be good for your imagination!

  6. 6

    HERE I am in Prouts neck, Maine. Forgot my passwordso can’t leave A POst. Watched the DemocrATIC debate. Hilary won hands down.

    twtd


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

