“I WANT YOU TO KNOW NO ONE HAD LESS TO DO WITH THIS THAN JESUS”

When she accepted an Emmy earlier this month, comedienne Kathy Griffin (a Catholic) said the following: “A lot of people come up here and thank Jesus for their award. I want you to know no one had less to do with this award than Jesus.”

Pretty straighforward and I would say theologically sound. If Kathy Griffin had thanked Jesus for helping, then we should inquire what is the relationship of Jesus to the other nominees who lost?

Straightforward? Apparently not. All hell broke loose, many critics charging Griffin with blasphemy. And that’s not all. A Christian theater troupe in Tennesee coughed up $90,440 for a one page ad in U.S.A. Today excoriating Griffin and proclaiming “We at the Miracle Theater consider it an honor to stand for Jesus today.”

What in God’s name is going on here? I am aware that many fundamentalist Christians are angry but are they devoid of humour too? As Kathy Griffin said: “Am I the only Catholic left with a sense of humour.”

Do you think what Kathy Griffin said is blasphemous?

Does the knee-jerk reaction of the Miracle Theater group tend to bring religion into disrepute?

14 Comments »

  1. 1
    Joanne Nicholls Says:

    Comments like this show more about the comedian than anything else. Kathy Griffin intentionally says things to get people going and to draw attention to herself. Some people may find it funny. Others do not. I doubt however that her comments warrant the response that they got. And fundamentalist Christians, in my experience, have absolutley NO sense of humour when it comes to things like this. They seem to take things literally and believe the must respond and come to the defence of Jesus. Really, it’s Kathy Griffin who looks a bit like an idiot and it should probably be left that way.

  2. 2
    SUZANNE Says:

    Pretty straighforward and I would say theologically sound

    No it’s not. It’s God who gave her the talent. It’s God who allowed for the circumstances in this life to lead to that moment.

    I could go on, but you know what I mean.

    I haven’t really followed the hoopla, but based on that report, I would say that is a mild form of blasphemy, not like the average French curse word. I think her comments are more directed at believers than God. I think people are upset because when they thank God after winning an award, they are sincere, and they’re being mocked for their faith.

  3. 3

    I didn’t see Kathy Griffin’s speech, as I don’t generally watch TV, so I can’t verify the tone or implied meaning of her statement. I doubt it was blasphemous. It may have been erroneous. Any talent she has is a gift from the divine, and therefore Jesus had something to do with her winning an Emmy (assuming the award is awarded on the basis of talent). Joanne Nicholls is probably right in doubting that her comments warrant the reception they have received.

    By the way, I like the style of your posts: presenting a controversy, asking pertanent questions, and stipulating that commenters support their opinions.

  4. 4
    Barbara Says:

    Kathy Griffin’s persona as a comedian is a bit salty. I suspect she is making humourous reference to the less than tasteful moments in her humour that may have given her the edge to win this award. In which case, one could read some (small) degree of honesty/humility in this.

  5. 5
    John Says:

    I doubt that Kathy Griffin put anymore stock in her comment than those who actually thank Jesus probably do. What a waste of $90,440. Give yourselves a shake, folks.

  6. 6

    Joanne – I agree with you that Kathy Griffin may be an idiot and she is surely narcissistic. But then, aren’t most entertainers?

    Suzanne – Actually, I don’t think I know what you mean. Was Kathy Griffin’s talent inserted into her DNA? You also say God allowed the circumstances of her life to lead her to win the award. Does that mean God allowed the circumstances of the lives of the other nominees to lead them away from winning the award? This is starting to make me nervous in terms of free will.

    Kyle – Like you I don’t think the remark was even close to being blasphemous. Thanks for commenting. I also enjoy your blog.

    Barbara – I think edge is a good word. That it should have provoked such an irrational response is somewhat worrisome.

    John – Give yourself a shake, folks. Precisely. Get a life.

  7. 7
    SUZANNE Says:

    Actually, I don’t think I know what you mean. Was Kathy Griffin’s talent inserted into her DNA?

    Every individual is created by God. Her DNA probably had something to do with it, but God foresaw what DNA she would have.

    You also say God allowed the circumstances of her life to lead her to win the award. Does that mean God allowed the circumstances of the lives of the other nominees to lead them away from winning the award?

    Not just their lives, but the lives of all the people who voted, etc. This level of complexity is child’s play to God.

    This is starting to make me nervous in terms of free will.

    It’s not just a matter of Kathy Griffin’s will. It everyone else’s will. It’s every one else’s free chosen reactions. God foresees this and knows how to foster circumstances to correspond to his plans.

  8. 8
    Barbara Says:

    Suzanne, I would check with your nearest theologian about your last statement. Sounds rather Calvinistic to me.
    Ask that theologian what free will means.
    I believe that God can call us in one direction or another, but that our will is quite free to follow or not and we must accept the consequences of any such decision. God does indeed foresee in the sense that God is outside of time and sees Creation “unfold”, I suppose, as one grand event. Words fail me here. That’s not the same as manipulation, which is what it sounds like you are implying.

  9. 9
    Snoopy Says:

    IT WAS A F’N JOKE PEOPLE!

  10. 10

    Snoopy –

    Quite right. It was a joke. But you’ve got to admit it has lead us into quite a theological discussion.

  11. 11
    Chimera Says:

    Neil, Suzanne does not discuss, she pronounces. And she gets her pronouncements directly from god herself.

    Just ask her.

  12. 12

    Chimera –

    I agree that Suzanne can be frustratingly definite but she knows her stuff and usually gives as good as she gets.

  13. 13
    Chimera Says:

    Just wait ’til you’ve been subjected to several rounds of her full-bore antilogic, pseudo-science, deliberate deafness and wilful illiteracy combined with her stern-mommy-reprimanding-naughty-child act.

    Then ask yourself how much of her “stuff” she really knows. And how much of it she’s fudging.

    And until she can reply to a simple closed question with a “yes” or “no” answer, she doesn’t know the meaning of the word “definite,” either.

  14. 14

    Chimera: What I get from your comment is that you don’t agree with her. Fair enough.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

