DO YOU HAVE A GROUCH?

We just celebrated National Grouch Day. As I understand it Grouch Day originated with Oscar the Grouch on Sesame Street. Now, I thought Oscar was pretty straight-forward. But wouldn’t you know some expert says “Oscar exemplifies what pyschologists call oppositional defiant disorder”. You’ve got to be kidding.

Do you have a grouch? I do. It has to do with women who drive with one hand and hold their car phone in the other. Just watch them babbling away as they screech around a curve. What is so urgent? Who are they talking to — a broker, a lover , a masseuse. Couldn’t it wait? Couldn’t they pull over to the side of the road?

That’s my grouch.

What’s yours?

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    Barbara Says:

    I second your grouch, Neil, but there are many men who do the same thing.
    My grouch are the folks who park their shopping carts in the middle of the aisle at supermarkets and force others to either (a) wait patiently for them to come to a decision on which can of soup to buy or (b) shove their cart to the side so you can get past and risk hurting someone’s feelings by implying they are thoughtless.

  2. 2
    Joanne Nicholls Says:

    I have a grouch too. Actually, I have many but I will bless you with just one for now.

    It involves people (usually in fancy cars like BMWs) who believe themselves to be more important than anyone else. These are the people who when the lanes on the highway are reduced–either just because or from construction–go flying right up the side, often on the shoulder and then expect us–who have been patiently waiting our turn to continue on–to let them in.

    What happened–did you miss the BIG, HUGE, GIANT, YELLOW arrow indicating it was time to move in 2 km ago?

    I will do whatever it takes to keep you from butting in. Jerks.

  3. 3
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Well my grouch is being asked “were you born here” or being said “you speak good French or English for a foreigner”. After 76 years I still can’t get used to it.

  4. 4
    Cate McB Says:

    Yes, I agree very much with Barbara that the cell phone problem resides with both men and women — and equally so in my experience.

    I have two grouches.

    Since I take the bus most of the time, my first grouch is folks who use their cell phone on the bus and talk so loudly that the rest of become a captive audience and it can become soooooo painful. Inevitably, either the conversation is all about, “Hi, I’m on the bus …. ” as if there was nothing more important to say, or the rest of us have to suffer through the cell phone user’s life story and latest woes. Almost every day, I just want to get up and throw that cell phone out the window.

    The other grouch is when I am driving, and I find myself behind someone going 20 km/hr on the entry ramp to the 401 or the QEW or some other expressway, and then this driver is in a panic at the end of the ramp when they discover that they don’t have enough speed to merge with the expressway traffic. Nothing sends my blood pressure up faster than this.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

