SHOULD OLYMPIANS BE PAID?

Henceforth in a money-for-medals program Canada’s Olympic athletes will receive $20,000 for a gold medal, $15,000 for a silver and $10,000 for a bronze  starting in Bejing next summer. There will also be $5,000 payouts for the top-five and top-four finishers at world championships in the three-year buildup to each Olympics.

Athletes in training say they will view this money as a reward, not an incentive. I wonder?

It’s true, however, that most other countries reward their athletes this way and certainly athletes have to get by on a shoe string.

On the other hand, does this mean there will be less money in the training pot? Some critics have argued that it should be enough of a privilege to wear the Maple Leaf. And how will this work in team sports?  Would it be the best use of the money to pay every millionaire on the 2010 men’s hockey team $20,000 should they win a gold medal in Vancouver.

Do you favour paying money bonuses to Canada’s Olympic medal winners?

10 Comments »

  1. 1

    I’d support it if they’d give half the reward to me.

  2. 2
    Chimera Says:

    We have sure come a long way from the original Olympics, both in content and intentions!

    In the modern Olympics, all the competitors are supposed to be amateurs. As in not paid. Period.

    And as much as I love hockey, and as much as I love to see the best of the best get together from all their various teams and temporarily form a cooperative effort and compete on a world level, professional hockey players do not belong in the Olympics!

    Short answer: No.

    Slightly longer answer: Why not bring back the practise of individual sponsorship for individual athletes? Not corporate sponsors, but personal sponsors.

  3. 3
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    The government should reward all real amateur athletes who can prove without a doubt that they have not used performance enhancement products, legal or illegal. Those honest sportsmen will never win a medal as long as the present system is tolerated. Alas! In my book they are the only real McCoys.

  4. 4
    Chimera Says:

    Paul, by “government,” you mean “taxpayer” and that means me.

    I have no interest in supporting athletes in sports that hold no attraction for me. Why would I want my pocket picked yet again, for a cause I do not support?

    Let me handle my own money, and I’ll become a personal sponsor in a sport that interests me.

  5. 5
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Lucky Chimera to have that kind of money. Retired, on a fixed income, I am most happy to contribute, however little, to a collective effort to help young unknown boys and girls wherever they may be in Canada and practicing whatever sport they may like.

  6. 6
    Chimera Says:

    I am also retired and on a fixed income. My money gets taken away from me to pay for things that have naught to do with me just because somebody wants the government to pay for it.

    The government does not pay for anything. The taxpayer is the one going broke on obscure “sports” that bore most people to tears.

    If you’re so happy to contribute via taxes, good for you. You can continue to pay voluntarily if you want.

    I want a choice in the matter. Jeez, there’s “that word” again!

  7. 7
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Let’s have a referendum. Just a joke.

  8. 8
    Chimera Says:

    “Just a joke.”

    Oh, I am sooooo glad you said that! LOL! I saw that first sentence and my pacemaker skipped several beats!

    (Just kidding. I don’t have a pacemaker. Yet.)

  9. 9
    Joanne Nicholls Says:

    No. The Olympics are about doing one’s best and if you win, so much the better. I understand that athletes have to train virtually full time and that is costs money. That is where money should be spent. Allowing these athletes (at the amateur level) to pursue their goals and not have to live on cat food.

    But, no money should be spent for medal winners. Will it incite Olympic athletes to better performances? I hope not, because if there are not there doing their best, then they have no business at the Olympics. Step aside and let someone who would be honoured to be there and give the performance of their lives take their place.

  10. 10
    Petr Says:

    verwolf130678


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

