FILMS: FAVOURITES FOR 2007?

Here’ two of mine:

Michael Clayton

This is my favourite kind of movie. Glossy, smart-talky, world-weary but still principled with first class acting all the way. There’s such depth in the performances, from the top (George Clooney’s modest fixer, Tilda Swinton’s sweatiness as a corporate lawyer who knows she has sinned, and especially the soulful craziness of Tom Wilkinson as a reformed cutthroat) to the tiniest cameos, which are filled by actors who make their two minutes glow. And it wraps up deliciously without cheating.

Once –

What a stunning surprise. A low budget Irish film that turned out to be the heartbreaker of 2007, a sweet, unexpected, fresh-as-baked-bread love story, acted by real life musicians playing their hearts out on the back streets of Dublin. As one critic said, “Fellas, you want your girl to fall for you? Watch this movie with her?”

Do you have any favourite films from 2007?

Or ones we should avoid?

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    I guess my favorite 2007 films come from grounds unexplored by most of your friend bloggers Neil.
    1) La neuvaine, a Quebec film about faith and a clean and warm relationship, friendship should I say, between a jaded woman doctor and a young man praying for his grandmothers cure. Almost no dialogue. The feelings are mostly convyed through body language and facial expressions, and the images, what great photography.
    2) Le Grand Silence, a Swiss German film about life in a Benedictine monastery in the Swiss Alps, or could it be Austrian Alps. Almost no music, very few words, but here again the camera is the way of communication. And the two hours go by in a flash.
    3) Contre toute espérance, another Quebec film by Émond, the La neuvaine film maker. Here again the dialogue is sparse and to the point. This one is about hope in desparate situations. It is also a vivid illustration of the ravages of savage capitalism on the lives of ordinary peoples. The final scene says it all. The woman emerging from a psychotic episode looks straight at the camera (you) and says with a smile: “Je vais vivre”.
    There you are, except for “la neuvaine” they were not box ofiice hits but what quality!

  2. 2
    John Says:

    I don’t go to movies (or watch TV) so I’m somewhat out of my league here, but over the holidays, the kids and I watched a DVD called Happy Feet. I thought it was absolutely brilliant! It was a movie about dancing penquins. That’s as deep as it gets for me. If I watched the movies Paul does, my head would explode LoL.
    I’ve heard great things about Once. It’s on my radar.

  3. 3
    Barbara Says:

    I rarely go to the movies, but I can say Into Great Silence was remarkable. It was a Carthusian charterhouse in the French alps, however. A Zen-like experience of silence and texture, the texture of light on stone and wood, the texture of faces that rise each day to live a life seeking a direct encounter with God, the texture created by the passing of the seasons. It is available in DVD.
    Hairspray was a hoot. Everyone leaves elated.

  4. 4
    Tony Kondaks Says:

    “No country for old men” for doing what few Hollywood movies do: SPOILER. The protagonist, whom you invest your attention in, gets killed off. No closure, no “taking the story to its logical conclusion” yet the message the movie-makers want to portray is accomplished.

    “Lives of Others” for its anti-totalitarian message.

    Although up to two years ago I used to see at least 2-3 movies a week, I don’t anymore. Why? Because of Netflix. Over 80,000 titles which I can rent by perusing their database on the internet. Then the ones I want are mailed to me, usually by the next day (all hail the postal service!) Plus, I can start, stop, and rewind at leisure. And no talkers or loud popcorn-crunchers disturbing me or little old ladies with over-doses of perfume in the next seat irritating my sensitive nostrils.

    And once Blue-Ray and other high definition technologies as well as wide-screen TV monitors become even more prevalent and cheaper, the movie theatre will become obsolete for many consumers. Yes, I enjoy the pleasure of going out to movies but the inconveniences, as stated above, are beginning to far outweigh the plusses of just staying at home and seeing the movie in the comfort of my own living room. And, hey, new releases seem to be coming to DVD only a few short months after being in the theatres anyway…

  5. 5
    Chimera Says:

    Like John, I don’t watch TV. But I keep one around for DVDs and VHS movies and documentaries that I can borrow for free from any of the multiple branches of three library systems to which I belong.

    I think I saw three movies in theater in the past year, and they were ones that most of the rest of the world also saw, so no surprises there.

    My favorite Christmas movie is The Lion In Winter. The 1968 triple-Oscar winning version. I haven’t yet seen the 2003 TV-movie version, for reasons stated above; but if I find a DVD copy, I’ll very likely watch it. It would be interesting to compare Patrick Stewart’s Henry with Peter O’Toole’s. And Glenn Close’s Eleanor with Katherine Hepburn’s. And I’m not quite sure who Andrew Howard is, but my bet is that nobody can stack up against a very young Anthony Hopkins as Richard!

    As much as I’ll recommend any movie, that one would be it. It makes fine watching any time of year. Just ignore the historically-inaccurate Christmas tree, presents, and nods to present-day Christmas traditions. Enjoy the excellent acting and superb dialogue.

  6. 6

    Saw Juno last evening. Loved it.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

