SHOULD SEPARATISTS BE IN THE PARADE?

Montreal has one of the oldest and largest St. Patrick’s day parades in the world. And it’s not just the Irish who march along Ste-Catherine Street this Sunday. Many ethnic groups are also represented in the various floats.

Now a group of Quebec nationalists claim the Irish parade is too English. So these French separatists say they p lan to march too.

Should they?

I believe anglo groups participate in the St. Jean Baptiste parade.

On the other hand, does allowing separatists to march tomorrow, politicize the parade?

Would you let them march?

20 Comments »

  1. 1
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    No, if they intend to make a political statement. Yes, if they want to show solidarity with a group so near to french Quebecers that some of 1837 fighters were irishmen.

  2. 2
    CPP Says:

    I agree with Paul, yes let them http://www.languagefairness.ca/

  3. 3
    Chimera Says:

    Why not? On March 17th, the entire world is Irish for a day, so let ’em join the parade.

    I had to laugh at the thought that the French think an Irish festival is too English, though.

    Equally amusing is the thought that anyone thinks an Irish festival can ever be too politicized, especially about separatism. Who do you think invented the idea of separatism?

    The nationalists would fit right in.

  4. 4
    Tony Kondaks Says:

    Not only should the separatists be in the parade, they should be the ONLY ones in the parade. Indeed, they should be the ones running the whole operation.
    Let Pierre-Marc Johnson (who has always proudly claimed his Irish heritage) be the Grand Marshall for all I care.
    The faster Quebec separates and becomes an independent country, the happier I’ll be.

  5. 5
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Come on Tony, the group has 12 members, it has been disavowed by the Mouvement Québec Français and by the most nationalist Société St-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal. They hardly represent “Québec”. However, commentaries such as yours only foster resentment and furthers the aims of the 18% hard core seperatists in this province making it harder for convinced Canadian Quebecers to make their case. Even the P.Q. realises that the CAUSE is no longer a priority for 80% of our population. So please stop promoting it by boosting the importance of a minuscule group. Epharistopoly. (That’s the only Greek I know)

  6. 6
    Tony Kondaks Says:

    You assume I am pro-Canadian, Paul.
    I am not.
    So why wouldn’t I want to further the aims of what you say is the 18% hard core separatists in the province?
    I am here to make it HARDER for “convinced Canadian Quebecers to make their case.”
    You promote Canada, I’ll promote its destruction.
    Oh, and by the way, Paul, most separatists make the point that although they want Quebec to become a separate independent country, they go out of their way to insist that they want the Canada they leave behind to survive and thrive.
    Not me. I go WAY BEYOND what these separatists say.
    I want Canada to end. The sooner the better.

  7. 7
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    This is totally a different case. In most other countries you could be jailed just for writing this. Long live Canada

  8. 8
    Joe Agnost Says:

    Canada can’t afforf quebec anymore… we just can’t.

    Seperate and take your canadian tax-sucking groups with you!!

    Unlike Tony I love canada and can’t stand what quebec has done, and is actively doing to canada.

  9. 9
    Alex Thomas Says:

    The separatistes bemoan the fact that Quebec has been “occupied” by the Anglos since 1763, when France sold that “chunk of ice and rock” to the sucker English, to settle one of the ongoing wars of the time.
    Umm, guys? Ireland had been occupied by the English since 1188, when Henry II decided he liked the colour green, and thought he should own it. Want some fromage avec ton whine, m’sieur? The Irish KNOW from occupation.
    Let them march. Make them wear green toques, and put some shamrocks in their poutine, and life is good.
    My name is Alex Thomas. Drink it up, men, it’s well after ten.

  10. 10
    Tony Kondaks Says:

    Paul:

    In most countries, those that allege that they love their country don’t vote for separatist parties.

    Do you live in Quebec, Paul?

    If so, please share with me whom you voted for in the last several provincial elections.

  11. 11
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    I voted no in both referenda and I have voted Liberal in all provincial elections and federal ones to boot. I wish all of you guys would stop focusing on a few extremists and look at the larger picture.

  12. 12
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    By the way, I may vote NDP in the next federal round as I am disgusted by both the Fed. Lib. and Harper’s undercover Reformists.

  13. 13
    Joe Agnost Says:

    “I wish all of you guys would stop focusing on a few extremists and look at the larger picture.”

    The larger picture is that quebec takes more tax money from Ottawa per-capita than any other province. They force the rest of canada to pretend canada is biligual at a GREAT FINANCIAL COST, and then use the ‘not-withstanding-clause’ to pass laws which make quebec UNIlingually french!

    If they would play fair I wouldn’t be so upset but they clearly think they deserve a different set of rules than the rest of us – and they continue to whine and moan that they aren’t getting enough!!

    It’s disgusting, it’s embarrassing and I’m sick of it!

  14. 14
    Joe Agnost Says:

    Oh – and should we discuss the state of the public service jobs in this country?? Want a job with the federal gov’t? Don’t bother applying unless you’re a francophone…

  15. 15
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Joe,
    You could turn me into a separatist…but no, I’m more resiliant than that after 77 years in Quebec bearing a Greek name.

  16. 16
    Tony Kondaks Says:

    Paul wrote:

    “…I have voted Liberal in all provincial elections…”

    In other words, you have supported and promoted separatism, nationalism, and racism.

    Now you know why I hate Canada.

  17. 17
    Joe Agnost Says:

    “You could turn me into a separatist…”

    Can you dispute anything I wrote??

  18. 18
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Gentlemen,
    Just like the separatists you loath you react emotionaly, you use facts, yes, but only those that suit you and reinforce your opinions, should I say prejudiced opinions? At any rate, I know enough people in and out of Quebec to know that you’r a minority, albeit a vocal one, and I respect that since, in an odd way, it makes us all go forward..to what? Well Louis-Joseph Papineau who has been hijacked by our separatists was a strong annexionist to the USA and longed for a unilingual anglophone North America…but our great patriots have forgotten that. It does not sit well with their goals. You see too much focus blurs the mind.

  19. 19
    Joe Agnost Says:

    “…you use facts, yes, but only those that suit you and reinforce your opinions…”

    So you admit my statements are true, but you say I’m missing important OTHER facts…

    Here’s your chance Paul – what facts did I omit in my “emotional” reaction?? I’d love to hear them!

  20. 20
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Well Joe, do you remember that, in 1973, the then Liberal Governement of Quebec when establishing the new health and social services act and, about the same time a new education law, entrenched the rights of the anglophone population of Quebec to have and to manage their health, social services and school institutions. That our municipak code recognizes, where numbers warrant, bilingual municipalities. This already is much more than francophones, except in New Brunswick, get without going to Court.
    When Canada came into being, the 1867 version that is, francophones were more numerous than anglophones. And just a last tidbit: the Quebec motto “je me souviens” comes from a poem. The first lines read:” Je me souviens que, né sous le lys,/J’ai grandi sous la rose”.
    When I travel outside Quebec I do not exspect to be spoken to in French, except in federal offices…in Ontario, bill 8 made some services bilingual, so when I’m up the 401 and French material is available, I make a point of getting it without making a fuss when there is’nt any.
    By the way, Manitoba, in 1890, was the first to abolish the use of a second languagei n the province and that language was French. It also abolished all rights for francopĥones. But that was a long time ago, eh?
    I could go on a spell, but I have been boring enough. However as I often say: two wrongs will never make a right.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

