IS DON CHERRY FOR REAL?

When I was growing up in the thirties, I was a rabid hockey fan. At that time there were only six teams in the NHL and Montreal had two of them counting the Maroons.

Now, I am only a play-off fan. And I must say the Canadiens, first playing Boston and now the Flyers, are serving up some classy hockey.

Can the Habs go all the way?  I would say it will depend a lot on whether Prtice can regain his goal-tending form.

There is only one problem with this picture.  And his name is Don Cherry?  What an over-dressed pompous chap he is.   What is it that viewers find so fascinating about Cherry that the CBC keeps him  on year after year?  Is it for his knowledge  of the game?   I can’t make up my mind whether Cherry  knows what he’s talking about or not.

But the fact is if you want to watch the Habs in the play-offs you also have to watch Cherry.  Too bad.

Are you a hockey fan?

Are you a Don Cherry fan?

Do you think the Habs can go all the way?

10 Comments »

  1. 1
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    I seem to remember that about two years ago the CBC had projected to pull the plug on the Québec and Habs bashing Don Cherry. There was such an outcry from the R.O.C. that the CBC kept the plug in. About two weeks ago, Red Fisher in the Gazette marveled at the fact that the said Cherry had suddenly become infatuated with the Habs and was rooting for them. Of course they are the only Canadian Club still in the running.
    As the french saying goes:”Faute de pain, on mange de la galette”! And no everybody out there this not antiquated french even the “Parisiens” understand it.

  2. 2
    Tony Kondaks Says:

    Am I a hockey fan?

    I was in my youth. In 1973 when I went to Dawson downtown I think I saw every home game ’cause it cost $2.50 for standing room, something I was willing to do when I was 18.

    I was born in ’55. For the first 28 years of my life, the Canadiens won the Stanley Cup 14 times — which, at that point, was 1/2 of my life. At that point, I felt: you can’t get any better than that and haven’t watched much hockey since.

  3. 3
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    In 1973 Dawson was on Sherbrooke street east near Lafontaine Park. It is now on Sherbrooke street west corner of Atwater opposite where you stood up for a 2.50$ hockey ticket.

  4. 4

    Warning: Passion on the horizon.

    I’m a sports junkie. Played soccer at a high level and I LOVE Don Cherry. I guess pure jocks “get” him. Call me a barbarian.

    I think people are being incredibly selective when it comes to Cherry.

    His favorite player? Guy Lafleur. He loves Lecavalier. He thinks Brodeur and Roy are the greatest goalies ever. Have you seen how much he has gushed over Lemaire, Gainey, Carbonneau, Robinson, Beliveau, Plante and Harvey? But he won’t shy away from letting people have it – including Quebecers. And when he does we cry and whine. Come…on…people.

    He has repeatedly praised the greatness of the Habs over the years. So he’s a Bruins at heart and is a Leaf supporter – big deal. At least he’s always up front about it. I remember years ago – in the 80s – when Team Canada juniors was not bringing enough Quebecers opting for a more rugged game. Cherry was screaming at Hockey Canada to bring more Quebecers because they were intelligent and agile players. He honours EVERY single fallen hero on his segment. He even paid homage to that Laval police woman killed.

    How we forget!

    I can go on and on. I’ve written about this extensively.

    Can he be over the top? Absolutely. Do I agree with everything he says? Nope. But he’s not HALF the twit or monster he’s painted to be.

    One thing is for sure. He is FAR more consistent and honest than most media people who have lacked any objectivity towards him. He’s even been quite insightful about several things – especially about safety. More than anyone at the Gazette (Pat Hickey did a hack job on him) and it’s a shame Fisher fell into that hopelessly one-sided trap about Cherry. What’s he talking about anyway? He’s been on the Price bandwagon from the beginning. I’ve never taken offense to what he says about the Habs.

    IT’S AN OPINION.

    Here in Montreal, we’re thin skinned. In Quebec, we like to stir the pot but hate it when we’re stirred.

    Let’s look at Quebec who has the benefit of saying what they want because no one understands French. I seem to recall the braindeaders over at TQS bringing in Raymond Villeneuve on 110% last year. What possibly could have been gained to bring a loser like that is beyond me. And he didn’t disappoint- he called English-Canada a nation of losers. NOT ONE MENTION OF THIS ON ANY BLOG.

    More importantly, the panel on that show have proven to be quite the shockers themselves. We all know the irrational bias they have towards French-Canadian players. Jean Page has said some distasteful things and Michel Bergeron and Jean Perron have proven to be parochial clowns themselves. Do you think for one minute these guys don’t want to use the word “wop” or “Mick” on the air? They came close with Effen-Kostopoulos.

    And let’s not get into Jack Todd – who effectively lead a campaign to censor a person. Real impressive – who has made some of the most asinine comments ( I can’t believe this guy got to go to a World Cup) I’ve ever read in any sports section.

    And we have the nerve to jump all over Cherry?

    Alas, this is just my opinion. It’s not more than that. But I think the saying, “those who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones” is appropriate here.

    Neil, you know how to get me going. Good stuff!

  5. 5
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Commentator,
    The thing on TQS never got on any blogs because nobody listens to TQS. The station is near bankruptcy and besides the newspeople no one sheds a tear. I must say I heard it from you.

  6. 6
    Tony Kondaks Says:

    Paul:

    No, in 1973 Dawson was a 5 minute walk from the Forum at the corner of Atwater and Ste. Catherine.

  7. 7
    Paul Costopoulos Says:

    Tony,
    There must have been some Dawson courses still on Sherbrooke east. It was right in front of my work place in those years and I clearly remember the Dawson on the front of that building and the students pouring up and down the stairs from and to the sidewalk.

  8. 8
    Chimera Says:

    I love Grapes!

    And no, I don’t always agree with him. Sometimes I want to throw things at him for his bad attitude towards a player I particularly like. But he has his opinion, I have mine, and that’s what he’s all about — opinion. I wish I could get paid as handsomely for mine.

    It’s his job to be outrageous, to whip up passion for The Game. C’mon…you think he wears those jackets because he’s color blind? I bet he keeps them in a steel vault so they don’t keep him awake at night.

    Grapes is as essential to The Game as the puck. You could play with something else. It wouldn’t be the same, though.

  9. 9
    Gordon Wilkinson Says:

    The Commentator hit the nail right on the head. Don Cherry can be loud at times his wordrobe even louder. But there’s no mistaken that he knows his hockey. His knowledge of the the game is much better than Pat Hickey’s and especially Jack Todd’s. The only one that can be Cherry’s peer is Red Fisher.

    Pat Hickey and especially Jack Todd have always critised Cherry for his frank, outspoken political incorrectness. Jack Todd wanted a national boycott to get rid of Cherry because he said in Jack Todd’s words “racist remarks” about visors are for europeans and frenchmen, which of course got overplayed and taken way out context by both french/english media in Quebec. I just love the media when they sensationalize everything-sarcasism aside

    Jack Todd should not say too much about bigoted comments made by Cherry, I recall him calling Tommy Lasorda a “weasel-eyed pot bellied pasta slurping slob” he also made derogotory comments about germans.

    Too bad his now defunct MMQB columms were not read coast to coast otherwise the rest of the country would see Jack Todd for what he really was, a vitrolic hack writer who pretends to be the great social reformer.

  10. 10

    Gordon:

    I agree with you about Jack Todd. He’s a great sports writer in his own estimation. Thanks for your comment.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

