Catharine asks: What is your most memorable winter moments?

7 Comments »

  1. 1
    Stéphanie Says:

    This year was 2 specials night in my memories : my Christmas diner with all of my 13 family and friends that came to my house ! It was a magical night ! And your night skiing as a family. My husband first time in almost 15 years ! It was so much fun !!

  2. 2
    laurie hanslin Says:

    Hi, my name is Laurie. I live in central New Hampshire in a small town called Grantham. The month of January was special to me because I became « Hestia, goddess of the hearth ». I had to stay home to feed the wood stove all day while my son was in school, so it would be warm when he came home. It gave me a sense of purpose, doing something so simple. But what a wonder it is to come home to a bright fire in the woodstove and a warm home. So, my life became simple in January. Now that it’s warming up, Hestia can go out more often and the house stays warm enough. Pretty soon, Hestia will have hardly anything to do at home and will be tootling all over town.

  3. 3
    Sona McCullough Says:

    This winter has been special in so many ways.
    Firstly, I have begun to realise that our family of four (five including our cocker spaniel puppy!) are going to put down roots. We are renting at present and when we moved to Norfolk, England last summer it was my 8th move in 9 years. My husband and our young daughters are all settling into work and school and we live in an area of such beauty, surrounded by open farmland and the sea. Nearby is one of the oldest Marian shrines in Europe which in medieval times was mentioned alongside Jerusalem, Rome and Santiago de Compostela and now is hidden and humble, with a tangible presence of Our Lady.
    (Of course the downside to putting down roots, is trying to motivate myself to do postal redirections, when we hope to buy a house and move for the 9th time in 10 years!!)
    Secondly, my new year’s resolution was to do something creative each month. And for January that meant going on a bread making day course: I had no idea that my body would dance to the rhythm of the dough as it was kneaded and that I would find myself breathing more deeply. A wonderful experience for all five senses.
    Thirdly, (as three feels a more complete number!), this winter has been a special time of letting go: not pushing myself so much, not having others’ expectations as my benchmark, not worrying about all my unanswered emails. I don’t feel so ruled by a daily to-do list and in the world’s eyes haven’t achieved so much but know something more of me will emerge at the appointed time.
    Thank you Catharine for the question – I wouldn’t have known my thoughts so surely otherwise xxx

  4. 4
    laurie Says:

    Hi. This is Laurie from New Hampshire again. It’s mid March and still very much winter time. We have run out of wood for our woodstove and we are not the only ones. It’s become quite a talk around town, how people have used up their firewood and winter still goes on. … The maple buckets are already out on some trees, but it’s still cold enough to need the woodstove going. This will be a winter I will remember. It’s the first time we’ve run out of wood before the snow even starts to melt.

  5. 5
    Isabella McCullough Says:

    Hello! I am Isabella. I am 6 years old. I live in Norfolk. I go to a school called Greshams and I am in Red house; it’s my favourite school in the world!

    Here’s a poem about why this winter was memorable:

    Winter

    In winter my dog arrived,
    He is called Jack.
    Mummy gave me a game of charades
    and we played it having supper.
    My uncle came to visit,
    Uncle Richard is his name.
    Christmas we spent with my Nana and Grandpa.
    We did not get any snow and I was
    hoping to go sledging. .
    But now it is springtime and the daffodils are blooming!

    THE END!!!

    • 6
      laurie Says:

      Oh my gosh! I love this poem! It makes me feel so happy! We do not have daffodils yet here in New Hampshire. In fact, we still have huge piles of snow, enormous snow banks from our very long winter. Thank you for sharing this poem. Sincerely, Laurie from New Hampshire, U.S.A.

  6. 7
    ssstephaniep Says:

    Dear Sona, Laurie and Isabella,

    Go to http://www.neilmckenty.com for the up to date blog.


RSS Feed for this entry

Laisser un commentaire